Something Different

Godzilla cartoon

Good evening . . . er, good midnight? This week instead of concentrating on my own writing, I’m going to focus on a compeltely different topic. Just to put the final nail in my geek coffin, I am going to talk about Godzilla movies.

I do love the big green guy. It’s an I’ll-never-grow-up-you-can’t-make-me-nya-nya-nya thing.

First, I finally got my hands on a few I hadn’t managed to see yet. Godzilla against Mechagodzilla essentially restarted the whole series for the second time, ignoring everything that happened after the first Godzilla (Gojira) and Mothra movies. I didn’t think I would like it because that kind of thing usually annoys me (cough cough new Star Trek cough cough), but it actually had a good story.

I have to admit that in my search for missing episodes, I finally found one I think may be to silly for me, Godzilla Vs. King Ghidorah. Aside from the badly-done super android, it had to be in the top ten of worst written plots ever. Look, the aliens are coming. Oh, no, they’re from the future. Oh, they’re trying to save us from Godzilla by having us go back in time and take the dinosaur that became Godzilla (a dinosaur who incidentally saved a trapped garrison of Japanese soldiers from being slaughtered by the Americans dureing WWII) and store it under the sea exactly where the original Godzilla came from. This will ensure Godzilla is never created and never destroys Japan as the future people say he will. Oh, the people from the future left their own pets behind to be irradiated in the same Nuclear testing that created Godzilla in the first place? No problem. Oh dear, the super fake looking little bat creatures have fused into a single super-ginormous dragon that breathes electricity and is now proceeding to decimate Japan? We’d better find the dinosaur and recreate Godzilla (who everywone still remembers even though now he’s never actually existed). Oh dear, that’s already happened and he’s even bigger than he was the first time because he was created by more powerful modern nuclear technology? We’d better try to kill him. Oh, good, he’s killed King Ghidorah and is leaving to go back into the ocean. We’d better kill him now. Damn, now we pissed him off and he’s destroying Japan. We’d better go into the future, resurrect King Ghidorah, and bring him back to kill Godzilla.

Wwwwwhhhhhaaaaatttttt??????

Anyway, I think you got the point. It’s not my favorite, even though the character I like is in it, a psychic girl who has a connection to Godzilla and sometimes other giant monsters. Yep, she does. But she’s fun.

Yes, I love the big cheesey fake big green guy. I will probably even eventually buy Godzilla Vs. King Ghidorah simply to have my collection as complete as possible. Although I am not OCD enough to buy King Kong Vs. Godzilla. Nope, nope, nopw, not when he loses to a big monkey.

Just why do I love Godzilla and some of the other Kaiju? Childhood memories. When I was 3 or 4, my favorite cartoon was the old animated series (which I am watching on DVD as I type, at least the first season). When I was not much older, I watched my first real Godzilla movie. Loved it then, love it now. Though if I were to see the cartoon for the first time now I may not be so fond. Diplodocus was most definitely NOT a fanged meat-eater. Yes, I am nerd enough to love dinosaurs, too.

As I said, you can’t make me grow up. Never ever ever. And no one will ever turn my into anything other than a proudly admitted geek.

As my eyes don’t want to stay open, I will quit here. I hope if I go back and re-read this tomorrow it still makes some kind of sense.

So good night fellow geeks. I shall get back to writing about writing eventually, but in the mean time, don’t let anyone tell you who to be or what to like.

Leave a Reply

