All Kinds of Stuff

Hello my fellow writers and readers. I am terribly guilty of ignoring my own blog and am almost embarrassed to post anything new (hanging head and scuffing toes), but there are a few topics that I’ve wanted to touch on for a while now. They are older and I would never have decided to touch on them in my blog, except for the fact that I STILL find blog entries and articles being published regarding the said topics, so I will beat the apparently not-quite-dead horses a bit myself. Sorry, poor horses. Perhaps I will in some tiny way hasten the end of your misery.

First: Twerking is not new, people. Just because the word hasn’t existed for, like, ever, doesn’t mean the move hasn’t.

‘Kay, that’s all I have to say about that.

Next: Since apparently I was the only person in the entire civilized world (Civilized. Ha.) who realized it was not meant to be taken as fact, I wanted to put in my ha’penny regarding Megalodon: The Monster Shark Lives. I knew it was a mocumentary, docu-fiction, or whatever fancy name you want to give a fictional documentary, from the preview. Is it still called a preview when it’s for a TV show? Do I care? Point is, if I could figure out that the show wasn’t real, the Discover Channel most definitely did not deliberately mislead anybody. Perhaps I had a bit of an edge over the average viewer because of a more than passing interest in paleontology and a familiarity with shows like The Lost Tapes, Dragon’s World, The Future is Wild, Prehistoric Park, and Alien Planet. Sadly I have not managed to catch either Mermaid show. People, Megalodon was fake. It was meant to be fake. You were meant to know it was fake. They used obviously augmented photos. It is not Discover’s fault that you didn’t realize it at the time.

Third: JK Rowling, please, please, please do NOT stop writing. I very much enjoy your work, at least what of it I’ve read. I admit I am not a mystery fan so I have not read your non-Harry books, though at some point I might out of pure curiosity. I feel absolutely no threat over an author finding success. I do not blame anyone else for the fact that I am an as-yet-failed author. Am I frustrated and bitter? Yes. All I want out of life is an actual career as a writer, and as long as the new Health Care Law is on the books I wouldn’t have to rely on an employer to be eligible for health insurance, it would be a possibility, if I could actually sell enough books to survive on the profits. But so far that isn’t possible, I need an employer’s health benefits to survive, I’m very close to losing my job for taking too long with each customer, and I feel like I’m going crazy. I haven’t yet found a reliable way to get my book promoted without spending money I don’t have. I sincerely hope it’s not the book itself that’s the problem. I know it’s not a complete dog, though I realize I am not the best judge of my own work. I probably would say I was an awful writer, except I know a number of people who have read my published book and quite liked it. One even told me she had trouble putting it down. Another said . . . never mind, that’s not what this was about. I don’t know a single reader who limits their collection to a single author, or two, or three. All the bookworms I know have books by dozens, sometimes hundreds, and in a few cases thousands of different authors. For one author to say another needs to stop writing to give other authors a chance is unconscionable, unethical, disgusting, and more than a bit ridiculous. And to make fun of adults for the reading material they choose is not a great message, either. Yes, I have read the Harry Potter series more than once. Or twice. Or a dozen times. I enjoy it. I enjoy Shakespeare. I enjoy Terry Pratchett. I enjoy many, many writers, some considered adult and some not. No other writer has anything to do with the success or failure of my career.

The last topic doesn’t fall under the category of dead horse, though I sincerely hope that someday soon it will. The Arizona law, that terrible law they called religious freedom, was vetoed by an intelligent woman. I have read many takes on the veto on both sides of the issue, and I sort of agree with several who have stated that a privately-owned business should have the right to deny service to anyone they choose, were a business out to limit its own . . . er, business. I say sort of because there are certainly cases I have observed where a business should have been able to throw out a customer. Too many times I’ve seen customers abuse employees and even other customers, but it usually takes something major for a business owner to dare such a thing as kicking them out. In some cases I suppose it’s because they want the abuser’s money, but I suspect in others it’s because they fear a lawsuit. But the Arizona law legalized discrimination against one particular group of people. That is wrong, sick, ugly, and against the very ideas America was founded on. I have too many gay friends and family members for such a law not to affect me personally, but even if I had no such ties and did not agree with the lifestyle (which is none of my business since not a single person who has claimed that gays will destroy our very society have been able to explain how or why someone else being gay should hurt me in any way), I would not agree with it. What could be next? Will we go back to the days of black segregation? Force those of Jewish faith to wear Stars of David? Illegalize left-handedness? Shave the heads of all redheads? Legally discriminate against fat people? The last kind of scares me, since I have more than once experienced the way so many see my kind as second, third, or even lower class citizens. No, making hate and discrimination legal is a bad, bad, bad, bad, bad idea. That kind of thinking is what will destroy, and has come too close to destroying, our society. Picking one old testament idea (I won’t even get into the evidence that most if not all of those passages are mistranslations because shock upon shock the Bible was not originally in English and some words in other languages are hard to translate) out of dozens to base a chuck of our legal system on is nothing but stupid. Let’s illegalize tattoos, piercings, wearing more than one type of fabric at once, eating meat and milk together, eating any seafood other than fish . . . No, we need to come together as a species to save ourselves, and that incudes gay, straight, black, white, red, yellow, albino, blue, green, spotted (I’ve seen all three don’t laugh) Christian, Hindu, Jewish, Pagan, Muslim, Voodoo, Atheist, blonde, brunette, bald, clean shaven, bearded, everyone except hatemongers, the just plain evil, and perhaps the Church of Satan wouldn’t be exactly reliable, although I’ve never met a member so I can only base that judgment on what I’ve read about the group and wouldn’t make any final statements without more information.

So those are my little thoughts on several subjects. I won’t presume to encourage anybody to see things my way because I was never in debate and have actually had people try to argue with me when I was agreeing with them. (But listen, you have to see it this way. Yeah, I do. No, but you have to think about it this way. Yeah, I hear exactly what you’re saying, you’re right. No, no listen, you have to consider this . . .) Obviously I am not the best person to try and persuade anyone to anything, just letting you know this is what I think.

So, not much about writing this time. Sorry about that. Maybe next time. We’ll see. Yeah, we’ll see how long my poor, not-exactly-top-of-the-line-when-I-bought-it computer lasts. Probably not good that it crashed right in the middle of writing this. At least it didn’t explode. I didn’t just say that, not giving Fate any more grand ideas. Shutting up now.

Good night, sweet readers and writers, and good luck to those of you that need it.

Leave a Reply

